Spanish (B1), Italian (?), Portuguese (?), Polish (?),
Arabic, Turkish, Persian, Pashto,
Hindi-Urdu, Bengali, Telugu, Tamil,
Mandarin Chinese (N), Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese,
Thai, Filipino, Malay-Indonesian, Burmese,
Soteapanec, !Xóõ, etc

learnt french the wrong way..

Postby ninuno » Sat Mar 28, 2020 2:45 am

i recently started learning turkish by watching youtube videos and the way they pronounce made me think i might've learnt french the wrong way .

in turkish things just glide like 'değil' is really just 'dil' and 'alaçağım' is just 'alaçəm' ..

I was listening to 'ma jeunesse fout le camp' then i realize french kids really learnt it as 'ma jeunèss fou le kan' .. it's almost as if 'fou le kan' came first then they add 't' and 'p' at the end in their brain.
then in the case of 'qu'en' they also seem to be able to separate 'kan' into 'qu' ' and 'en' . :?:

heres a list of homophones for late-bloomers ..

https://www.thoughtco.com/french-homoph ... ry-1371264
1 x

Querneus
Blue Belt
Languages: Speaks: Spanish (N), English
Studying: Latin, French, Mandarin

Re: learnt french the wrong way..

Postby Querneus » Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:22 am

Yes, all of that is correct.

The many homophones involving archaic spellings that French has are not in essence too different from the homophones of Chinese... Little toddlers who speak Mandarin but can't write don't know about the difference of the uses of the characters 田 tián, 填 tián and 甜 tián, even though they may use those words. French speakers go through something similar when learning about camp vs. quand vs. quant vs. qu'en as kids.

As you can imagine, this is also the source of mistakes for French speakers, and it doesn't really matter that the meanings may seem "very different" from the point of view of Mandarin or English. You may see quant misspelled as quand sometimes, just like in English you sometimes see "they're", "their" and "there" confused, or "principle" and "principal".