What do you love about your second language(s)?

General discussion about learning languages
samfrances
Orange Belt
Languages: Native: British English
Learning: Spanish (B1/B2)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2967

What do you love about your second language(s)?

Postby samfrances » Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:21 am

It's fairly common to hear abstract questions along the lines of "how do I choose which language to learn?", but I thought it would be interesting to have a more concrete discussion about what you love about your second language(s) and what attracted you in the first place.

I'll start: I started learning Spanish because it's a "heritage language" for me, but I also really like visiting Spain and love the way the Spanish language sounds.
0 x
: 156 / 156 : Schaum's grammar, Fluent Forever
: 642 / 1000 : Learn / make flashcards for 1000 most frequent Spanish words

Sam's Spanish Log
Sam's Year of Reading Only Spanish
Dipping my toe into Latin

Via Diva
Green Belt
Languages: Russian (N), English (~C1), German (~B1)
Wanderlust/abandoned: Czech, Swedish, Italian, Modern Greek, Esperanto, French, Dutch, Finnish
Hit-list (?): Icelandic, Hungarian, Sanskrit
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=929

Re: What do you love about your second language(s)?

Postby Via Diva » Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:40 am

Well obviously I like the music. If not for the bands like Breaking Benjamin, Avenged Sevenfold and Dream Theater (I kid you not, these bands, just not all at once) I would not begin to try to learn some English on my own; if not for Angizia I would ignore German even though I love things written by Stefan Zweig and some musicals; if not for just one Kometa I would never even think to look at Czech.

English is also a mandatory, Czech is an accident, whereas German is a language I am truly obsessed with. So let me just quote this:

Via Diva on 08.08.2014 wrote:Stuff about German I love