Social Hierarchy Expressed Through Language

General discussion about learning languages
Speakeasy

Social Hierarchy Expressed Through Language

Postby Speakeasy » Sat Sep 07, 2019 4:32 pm

Sir! Permission to speak? Although this topic relates to the use of language in the real world, it could be contentious, and I truly do not wish to start another pointless bun fight. What do you think of the following?

When I was a young officer cadet, so many (many) years ago, one of my fellow cadets, affecting a British RP accent and adopting a deliberately haughty tone, disdainfully said:

Horses sweat,
Men perspire,
Ladies glow, and
Officers feel the heat.

I am sure that we can all understand the intended message here; this was the use of language to express social hierarchy. Now then, please do not take offence at my erstwhile fellow cadet. He was, as most of us were, the offspring of a working-class couple and he had entered the military as a means of raising his social standing and improving his prospects in life. He was deliberately ridiculing (the reported) social mores of a previous era and expressing (mockingly) that he had finally “arrived.”