how are languages stored in your memory?

General discussion about learning languages
manuD
White Belt
Languages: French (N), English, Swedish (N), German, Spanish, Russian (mostly forgotten)

how are languages stored in your memory?

Postby manuD » Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:02 am

There is surprisingly no interference between the languages that I know well. I find this surprising, because some of them, English, Swedish, German, have rather similar words. I believe that they are stored in zones of the memory that have no overlap, that are well insulated from one another. This is perhaps why I sometimes don't immediately understand when somebody switches from one language to another in the course of the conversation. I have to make an effort to find which language he/she is now speaking.

Many years ago, when I was a student at the University of Toronto, I answered an ad asking for bilingual students for a test. I had to read a story by Albert Camus, which was written in a mixture of French and English. Afterwards, I had to read excerpts from that story and tell if it belonged to the text that I had read. I just couldn't tell, presumably because, while reading, I had not paid attention to the words, but immediately converted them to concepts. So, words are not just stored as words, but with a link to the corresponding concept, and I find it easy to go from a concept to the corresponding word in several languages. This seems to contradict the fact that languages are stored in separate zones, or maybe there is no effort involved in moving between zones?

On the other hand, there is often interference between the languages that I don't know well, despite the fact that they are very different. When a word doesn't come up in Spanish, sometimes it pops up in Russian or even Arabic.

I would look forward to comments, criticisms, alternate explanations for the way we store and retrieve words in different languages.