Learning as a false beginner

General discussion about learning languages
Tutescrew
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (beginner), French (beginner), Esperanto (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16736

Learning as a false beginner

Postby Tutescrew » Tue Jul 09, 2019 7:54 pm

I studied a language in school from age 9 to age 17. I did this as sort of an obligation, not as my choice. While I did get good grades, the subject never really interested me as I was interested in an engineering career. Of course, in hindsight that was a lousy attitude. Now, almost four decades later, I might pick that language up again. My first question is has anybody here been in a similar situation? Also, can I expect any level of recall that would be helpful? It was not Spanish, as my log below would seem to indicate....it was French.
Tutescrew
0 x
Tutescrew's French Progress
: 30 / 30 Pimsleur French I
: 16 / 30 Pimsleur French II
: 3 / 10 FSI French Phonology

El Forastero
Orange Belt
Languages: Spanish (N), French (C1), English (C1), Italian (C1), Portuguese (C1), German (Beginner), Russian (beginner), Wayuunaiki (Beginner)

Re: Learning as a false beginner

Postby El Forastero » Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:46 pm

I suppose that's a familiar situation for people on my age group about english. I "studied" english at school four hours per week, 40 weeks per year, 11 years, and after my graduation I barely could say Hello. Most of my current students in their 40-50 have a similar situation