Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: English(N)
Advanced: French,Spanish, Scottish Gaelic
Intermediate: Italian, Catalan, Corsican
Basic: Welsh
Dabbling: Polish, Russian etc

Early production vs early reception

Postby Cainntear » Sun Jul 07, 2019 10:41 am

So I keep forgetting to tell you about the findings of my masters study (2 years ago now!)

A few of you took part (thanks again!) but here's a short description of the whole thing:
The study looked at the relative benefits of receptive vs productive exercises for absolute beginners of a language, using Scottish Gaelic.

The start of the course involved learning vocabulary for four items of clothing (two masculine singular, two plural (there's no gender marking in plural in ScG)) and four colours (two of which decline for number, two of which don't). Then it moved on to short noun phrases like "a yellow T-shirt" or "red spectacles" (there's no indefinite article in Gaelic, so these were even more similar in gaelic). It then embedded these in a sentence: "he/she's wearing X", and finally adding in "and": "he/she's wearing X and Y".

Language was presented with images and the target language (no translation) and when it came to teaching the sentence form, an arrow was used on an image of a person to indicate which item was being discussed (all pictures were wearing all 4 items of clothing).

Productive learners had to type the correct answer in response to an image prompt, and if they made a mistake, they would be shown the correct answer and forced to type it before moving on.
Receptive learners had to select the correct image to match a Gaelic prompt, and if they made a mistake, they would have to keep clicking until they found the correct answer before moving on.
There were also two "hybrid" groups, one that did the first half of each lesson productively, then the second receptively, and the other receptively then productively.