Habits of highly effective language learners

General discussion about learning languages
jonathanrace
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Japanese (A2), Mandarin (A1)

Habits of highly effective language learners

Postby jonathanrace » Sat Apr 13, 2019 10:28 am

Let me first introduce myself. I'm an English teacher (3.5 years) who is also studying Japanese (1.5 years). I have a website that provides information on learning English.

What I would like to do is write an article that has a collection of habits from people who are effective language learners. This can be difficult to define but I would say if you have reached basic fluency in a few or more languages, or maybe you just feel you seem to pick things up faster than other learners (that you know) then you are probably right for this. ;)

I think 1 habit per person (made up of around 3-5 sentences or so) would be a great insight into the way these people manage to acquire the language and could be beneficial to learners of a language.

Some examples of what these habits could be: -
-I read one news article a day (in my TL).
-I used x book several times a week to study.
-I made sure that I only spoke my target language on x day (not any other language).

Of course, it could be anything really. If it's something you feel is unique and different then even better! The plan is to take a collection of these and write the article up in the next month or so.

If you are interested please PM me on here and we can discuss further, I'm happy to provide a link to a website or resource from the article (if you have anything you would like to link to.)

Also, if you aren't interested in contributing but you have any ideas to make this better (or if you see any potential problems with it) then feel free to post in this thread. Anything that can possibly make a language learners life better is worth being discussed!

edit : Wording changed in an attempt to be more specific