What milestones have you hit on your target language?

General discussion about learning languages
sporedandroid
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (heritage/intermediate), Hebrew (A2-B1)

What milestones have you hit on your target language?

Postby sporedandroid » Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:34 am

Even though I’m a beginner in Hebrew it’s fun to look at milestones I’ve hit. One interesting milestone I’ve hit is that I now understand Hebrew better than Yiddish. When I first watched Shtisel I felt I understood the Yiddish scenes better than the Hebrew scenes. When I watched it again after ramping up my studying I understood the Hebrew better. It took me a while to get to this point because I was taking studying slow.
It took me a long time to feel like I had a feel for Hebrew. I think I started to get a feel for it when I started studying sentence cards on anki. Maybe I should have started them from the beginning. I did start out on duolingo and they used sentences, but Hebrew words didn’t even seem like real words at first. That weird feeling never happened with any other language I studied.
3 x

cjareck
Brown Belt
Languages: Polish (N) English, German, Russian(B1?) French (B1?), Hebrew(B1?), Arabic(A2?), Mandarin (HSK 2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8589

Re: What milestones have you hit on your target language?

Postby cjareck » Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:21 am

Since my language learning is for specific goal mainly - to be able to read historical sources, the milestones are also connected with that. I remember struggling with German books. I was able to determine that someone shoots or attacks, but it was hard to figure out which side of conflict does that ;)
In French and Russian, the crucial milestone was the ability to figure out which fragments have to be translated because they are the most important for me. Unfortunately, I didn't go much beyond that. At least until now.