Cursive: Going The Way Of The Dodo?

General discussion about learning languages

Do you write using cursive?

No, I do not.
27%
No, I do not (but I secretly wish that I could).
7%
No, I do not (but I wish that my children could).
1%
Yes, I do.
39%
Yes, I do and would like my children to learn the script too.
26%

Total votes: 74

Skynet
Green Belt
Languages: English (N)
Shona (N)
French (DELF B2)
German (Goethe-Zertifikat B2)
Spanish (DELE B2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8686

Cursive: Going The Way Of The Dodo?

Postby Skynet » Sun Mar 03, 2019 8:57 pm

I have been writing in cursive for over two decades, and it has been a mixed blessing to be honest. On one hand, I am complimented on my penmanship, and on the other, my professors struggle to read my handwriting. In Zimbabwe, using the script meant one of two things: you were either born immediately after WWII or went to a certain type of school, both of which start extremely uncomfortable conversations. Learning the script for me was compulsory, but my siblings did not learn it and do not use the script to this day.

Out of curiosity, I wanted to know how the script is faring in the Latin-alphabet world (spoiler: it's declining in the US) and was surprised to discover that the script is also used for the Cyrillic (credit to Assimil Russian Without Toil), Greek, Bengali and Chinese alphabets.

This list cannot possibly be exhaustive! I would like to invite the denizens of the forum to share their experiences with cursive, and for those who chose YES to state which alphabet(s) they use the script in, and if they would like their children to learn it.

EDIT: Spelling correction. Blame it on the desert sand. ;)
Last edited by Skynet on Sun Mar 03, 2019 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2 x

Skynet
Green Belt
Shona (N)
French (DELF B2)
German (Goethe-Zertifikat B2)
Spanish (DELE B2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8686