Un-cluttering my mind for languages

General discussion about learning languages
Steve
Orange Belt
Languages: English(N), Spanish (Intermediate), Ancient Greek (Intermediate), Hebrew (Beginner), ASL (Beginner), German (Beginner)

Un-cluttering my mind for languages

Postby Steve » Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:35 pm

I'm going to lead up to my question with a story I will try to keep as brief as possible. I'll try to leave out the musical details except for the mental part of it.

In the past few years, I've started figuring out principles which underlie efficient learning. I've started applying them to a few things as experiments. One of these was learning to do jazz/blues style improvisation on piano. I've been playing piano for about 4 decades now. It's mostly been by ear in a typical pop, rock, and country type of style. Mentally, it has involved me knowing what the chord progression for the song is and knowing what scales and notes work well with those chords, and playing those. I enjoyed it and got reasonably good at it. I've also played bass guitar and guitar (rhythm and lead) with a similar approach. I could improvise reasonably well within a tight mental discipline of knowing what scales and notes would work with what chords. I had tried learning jazz scales in the past but never could do much with them in songs.