Presenting a paper on HTLAL

Discuss the LLORG's and HTLAL forum's past and its future here.
Jiwon
Orange Belt
Languages: Korean (native)
English (secondary native)
German (C1)
Hindi (intermediate)

passable: Mandarin, Japanese

Presenting a paper on HTLAL

Postby Jiwon » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:12 pm

I am not sure how many of you remember this, but two and a half years ago, I asked the forum's permission for me to write up my bachelor's dissertation on LLORG's migration from HTLAL.
https://forum.language-learners.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=4984

Thanks to everyone's support, I was able to successfully submit the paper, which was accepted by the graduation committee. Currently, I am in my third semester of my Master's program in Sociology (after dropping out of the law school of course), and I am continuing my studies in migration, globalization and intercultural interactions.

Recently, I found out that the Korea International Migration Studies Association was looking for graduate students to present their papers in their Summer Conference. Not thinking much about it, I asked my professor whether he thought my BA dissertation was good enough for the conference. His response was positive, and I was scheduled to make the presentation last Friday.

But looking back at my original request for your permission, I discovered that I had written, "The paper will not be published anywhere, and will only be submitted as a bachelor's degree requirement." It really hurt that I went against my own words with you guys, so I did the only right thing to do at the moment. I sent a PM to rdearman, our wonderful administrator who holds responsibility for all copyrights-related issues of the forum, and explained to him what happened. I told him that if he was uncomfortable with me making this presentation, I would ask for organizers' understanding and leave out all the details about our community.