Arnaud's lazy log (Russian & co)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Arnaud
Blue Belt
Languages: Native: French
Intermediate: English, Russian, Italian
Tourist : Breton, Greek, Chinese, Japanese, German, Spanish, Latin
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=1524

Arnaud's lazy log (Russian & co)

Postby Arnaud » Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:54 pm

How I've been learning russian (I started on June 2011, about 1 or 2 hours a day).

I started with Michel Thomas Russian (the 3 levels), then I studied Assimil Russian (the lastest edition of 2005 by Victoria Melnikova, then the 1st edition of 1973, both with the audio), Russian in exercises by Khavronina (to practice the grammar, no audio) and Ruslan 1 and 2 (it's a british method, the audio is free on the author's website).
I read and listened to another dozen of textbooks and methods that were more or less useful, like Teach Yourself, Méthode 90, Le russe vite et bien, Le russe by Potapova, Russian for all, Russian Language by Ovsienko, etc..., but I recommand in priority Michel Thomas, Assimil and Ruslan 2 that were the most useful to me: of course, each person has to find what suits her the most.

When you start to learn Russian, always use a method with the audio and get acquainted with the reading rules, (no need to learn them, just notice what's going on and trust your ear). Whatever you read here and there on the Internet, the russian writing is not phonetic and you need to rely a lot on your ear (that's my personal opinion, I consider that having a decent accent early in the learning process is important and prevents the acquisition of fossilized mistakes that are extremely difficult to correct later.).

Then I tried to expand my vocabulary by reading graded readers and started to watch cartoons on YouTube: the readers that were useful to me are :
- Шкатулка пособие по чтению для иностранцев, начинающих изучать русский язык (accented)