Spanish schools in Guatemala

All about language programs, courses, websites and other learning resources
fld315
Languages: English (N), Spanish (B1), German (A2)

Spanish schools in Guatemala

Postby fld315 » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:58 pm

Can anyone recommend (or recommend against) any Spanish schools in Guatemala? I'm an advanced student, looking to spend five or six hours a day in one-on-one tutoring. I was thinking Xela (Quetzaltenango) may be better than Antiguo, since Antiguo is full of tourists. I'm just looking for a place with the best teachers. I'm a newspaper reporter in South Florida, learning Spanish for my job (and so I don't remain monolingual forever). Looking for any advice on how to choose a school and make the most of the experience. Thanks.
0 x

Xenops
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), Danish (A2), Japanese (rusty), Nansha (constructing)
On break: Japanese (approx. N4), Norwegian (A2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16797

Re: Spanish schools in Guatemala

Postby Xenops » Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:13 am

I don't remember what program I was involved in (that was ten years ago!) but I cannot recommend Antigua high enough. The program I used was good too. There were very few tourists when I was there. Antigua is a charming city with lots of history, being a formal capital. I wouldn't mind visiting again. Plus, there's a live volcano you can climb!
0 x
Check out my comic at: https://atannan.com/

Brun Ugle
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: English (N), Norwegian (~C1/C2), Spanish (B1/B2), German (A2/B1?), Japanese (very rusty)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=11484

Postby Brun Ugle » Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:33 am

You might want to read from page 14 of Stelle's log about her trip and studies there.
0 x

Stelle
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N1), French (N2), Spanish (advanced), Tagalog (basic), Russian (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=13312