Stuck at an A1 Level - German

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
keepcalm1
Languages: Speaks English - Learning German

Stuck at an A1 Level - German

Postby keepcalm1 » Wed May 17, 2017 8:23 pm

Hey,

Although there are several topics regarding plateaus , the posters questions were not so similar to mine I think, if it has been discussed before please show me the link.

I started learning German in 2006 via self study and at the time I felt I made rapid progress, was able to visit Germany in 2007 and 2012 and had a great time both times, especially seeing the language in action. However, during this time I feel that my production of the language was always limited, for best reference with the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages levels I would say my production of the language is at A1, while understanding is more like a B2. It is very frustrating that when speaking to German speakers online and in person, even listening to live radio which I enjoy do I rarely have a problem understanding what is being spoken, however to produce those words myself wouldnt happen and would always revert to English for anything past an A1.

After my 2012 visit, I more or less stopped actively learning German as for a while I felt I was not improving and took a break. When I got back to it, after a few months I also felt I was in the same position and stopped again, tired of working for no results (what I perceive as no results). I do have other language learning ambitions although I would not say they are as extensive as my interest in German with a few exceptions, meaning for German I like the history, culture etc... realistically a few languages also speak to me like this, mainly French and Turkish.