Getting my Korean from intermediate to advanced?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
pandaramyun
Languages: Korean (intermediate), Spanish (passively bilingual), Japanese (passively bilingual), Thai (beginner), mandarin (intermediate)

Getting my Korean from intermediate to advanced?

Postby pandaramyun » Wed May 17, 2017 3:10 am

I've been learning korean for six months now and I've gotten to the point that I can read novels with dictionary use and comics without but it's still a pain to search up unknown words. As for listening, I can follow along with dubbed animes and my favourite youtubers without problem but medical/business speak totally confuses me. I'm currently using intermediate korean grammar in use and once I'm done with that, I'll be using sogang writing book one and korean composition to improve my writing skills as well as reading more novels. What else can I use to get to advanced? I have native speaker friends though I don't live in Korea.
0 x

tarvos
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: Native: NL, EN
Professional: ES, RU
Speak well: DE, FR, RO, EO, SV
Speak reasonably: IT, ZH, PT, NO, EL, CZ
Need improvement: PO, IS, HE, JP, KO, HU, FI
Passive: AF, DK, LAT
Dabbled in: BRT, ZH (SH), BG, EUS, ZH (CAN), and a whole lot more.
Language Log: http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/fo ... PN=1&TPN=1

Re: Getting my Korean from intermediate to advanced?

Postby tarvos » Wed May 17, 2017 8:26 am

You need targeted practice in order to improve your language skills. Writing skills are one of them.

Other things you need to do are similar things for speaking. I recommend looking up Korean exams and working through them, though you don't necessarily need to sit the exam - usually exam prep activities really help at the intermediate-advanced boundary.

And from here on out, progress tends to be much slower.
1 x
I hope your world is kind.

Is a girl.

Sayonaroo
Green Belt