Learning to read Chinese/Japanese

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Dylan95
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N)
Currently Studying
Russian C1
Uzbek B1
Ukrainian B1~

Previously Studied and mostly forgotten
French
Italian
Latin

Learning to read Chinese/Japanese

Postby Dylan95 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:08 pm

I'm a history student and in order to attend graduate school, one needs to have a considerable foundation in the languages that they will be working with. Unfortunately for me, I'm interested in the history of Northeast Asia! What are reasonable goals and time frames in terms of Chinese and Japanese? Especially in terms of reading.

Such questions usually irritate me because there is so much variation, but it would be interesting to hear some personal examples etc. Normally when I learn languages, I simply take it one day at a time and try not to worry much about time frames, but in this case I don't have that luxury because it is work related.

What are reasonable expectations in terms of the amount of time it would take to read relatively proficiently? What variables may affect this and how?

Since this is preparation for graduate school, I will be able to put in a lot of time over the next couple of years if I do decide to take this path.
1 x

aokoye
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: English (N), German (~C1), French (Intermediate), Japanese (N4), Swedish (beginner), Dutch (A2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=19262

Re: Learning to read Chinese/Japanese

Postby aokoye » Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:28 pm