Uneven competency in French

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
totobaba
Languages: English (N), German (N), Spanish (C2), French (B1), Portuguese (A2), Chinese (B1), Arabic (A1), Russian (absolute beginner), Latin (the small Latinum)

Uneven competency in French

Postby totobaba » Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:14 pm

Dear friends,

I beg you for some advice on how to progress in French. I am currently at a B2 level (CEFR). However, my skills are very uneven. My pronunciation is 'perfect' according to my teacher, I am quick in dialogue and give correct responses. Yet, my grammar is very much lacking, I have not mastered using the conjugation of many verbs. My active vocabulary is not enough for me to express myself in normal situations and on economic or political topics even though my passive vocabulary is big enough to allow me to read journal articles in French without problems.

How can I master these skills of actively expressing myself using the words I really mean and all the grammatical sophistication I would like to?
2 x

tarvos
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: Native: NL, EN
Professional: ES, RU
Speak well: DE, FR, RO, EO, SV
Speak reasonably: IT, ZH, PT, NO, EL, CZ
Need improvement: PO, IS, HE, JP, KO, HU, FI
Passive: AF, DK, LAT
Dabbled in: BRT, ZH (SH), BG, EUS, ZH (CAN), and a whole lot more.
Language Log: http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/fo ... PN=1&TPN=1

Re: Uneven competency in French

Postby tarvos » Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:59 pm

You need to practise active production and writing under stress where you are required to perform at a slightly higher level than you are used to. Push yourself a little bit in your usage.

Furthermore, if you don't know the conjugations well enough, it's time to hit the grammar books. Three weeks of solid grammar study can make all the difference.
6 x
I hope your world is kind.

Is a girl.

Thunter
Yellow Belt
Languages: -

Postby Thunter » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:30 pm