How to learn french?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
leoo
Languages: English (N) Lithuanian (N) French (beginner)

How to learn french?

Postby leoo » Tue Feb 27, 2024 4:25 pm

Hi.
What would be the best way to learn french in the shortest time to B2. please recommend courses and any advice.
I have 6-7 hours per day to learn french and I am ready to learn intensively.
I live in France aswell.
Thank you in advance :D
0 x

emk
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: English (N), French (B2+)
Badly neglected "just for fun" languages: Middle Egyptian, Spanish.
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=723

Re: How to learn french?

Postby emk » Wed Feb 28, 2024 11:44 am

I made it from an A2 in French to a B2 in 4 months of full-time study.

Intensive courses. The Alliance Française in Paris has several accelerated, in-person courses that might be worth a look. Here's one for total beginners and one that starts at A1. I've never taken either of these courses, but they have 72 hours of class a month, which is a good sign. Also, when considering an intensive French school, ask them how many of their students get a passing grade on the DELF B2 (or a score of at least B2 on the TCF), and how long this typically takes for dedicated students. The nice thing about the DELF B2 is that if you can pass it, you actually have a pretty decent understanding of French. So any school which can reliably produce passing students is probably doing something right.