Bakunin's log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Bakunin
Orange Belt
Languages: German (N), English, Thai, Swiss-German (adv.), Khmer, Isaan (studying); dormant: French, Polish

Bakunin's log

Postby Bakunin » Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:17 pm

Here’s a summary of my current language learning:

Khmer
My main focus at the moment is Khmer. I’ve started in March 2015 and am planning to go through a silent phase of 1000 hours in the beginning; I’ve just passed the 400 hour mark earlier this week. During those 1000 hours I will only listen to comprehensible input, mostly based on picture descriptions. I’ve established working relationships with a number of Khmers who provide me with a steady inflow of new audio material according to my specifications. The absolute beginner stage was the most exciting in terms of methodology, but now my vocabulary is large enough to understand a wide range of audio provided I have context (= pictures).

I got interested in Khmer because I have a few friends and know several other people from the Khmer-speaking regions of Thailand. There’s also, sadly, a massive language shift going on, driven by institutionalized Thai nationalism, and I’m generally interested in such phenomena. Last but not least, Khmer has influenced Thai on a massive scale, and I’m curious to find out more.

Thai