Learning French to Study in France [Success]

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
-JM-
White Belt
Languages: Turkish (N), English (C2), French (B2)

Learning French to Study in France [Success]

Postby -JM- » Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:00 pm

Hello everyone! I am learning French and firstly, I want to talk about myself and my story a little bit.

I am twenty years old. Finishing the high school, I started studying English Language and Literature. Not because I was really interested in English literature but I wasn't interested in any other major and my English was good so I didn't have to study to get a high score on the university entrance exam. Still, I was -at least I thought I was- ambitious to study it. Well, the plans didn't fit the reality. There was only one course I liked during the whole year and it was Advanced English Grammar. Was it my fault or teachers' fault? It was mostly their fault I guess. I especially hated the theory and criticism courses. Foucault, Barthes etc. I thought I didn't like modernist/postmodernist literature. But how could I had known? I never had read one before. We were just reading parts of dry theory texts and they didn't make any sense at all because we never read a book with the theories to apply on it. I thought they were non-sense and useless.

Last summer, thanks to a Turkish novelist, I have grown interest in modernist/postmodernist literature and theories about them. I realized I actually liked to read complex novels which include stream of consciousness, metafiction, intertextuality etc. Last week I even started watching theory lessons from a Yale professor, who is a real teacher unlike my teachers.