French B2 by 16th June

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
samc
Languages: English (N), French(?)

French B2 by 16th June

Postby samc » Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:58 pm

Hello everyone

I've been learning French for a while now, but I've focused exclusively on reading up till now. I can read a French novel quite comfortably now, only having to look up two or three words per page. But I can't comprehend the spoken language at all and can barely speak it either. The DELF B2 is held in London almost exactly three months from now. I want to pass it, and I think I have a good shot because my passive base is quite extensive.

I'm currently studying a masters in finance, which is quite intense, so I think I can only spare between two to three hours a day. I've already gone through the first half of FSI basic French, which I found quite helpful. I took a look at Assimil, but the beginner's course is a little dull so I'm going to start with Using French. I'm also going to read French books while listening to the audiobook to connect what I'm reading to the sounds of the language. Lastly, I'll write 100 to 200 words a day on lang-8 answering these questions: http://iteslj.org/questions/

So my plan is
Read one chapter of a book a day while listening to the audio (Harry Potter at the moment)
1 chapter of Using French
One quarter unit of FSI French Basic
100-200 words on lang-8
I might go through one episode of RFI journal en francais facile, if I have time

I will update this log every couple of days. If anyone has any advice, it would be appreciated, especially regarding how to pass the DELFs

SamC
4 x

Carmody
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: English (N)
French (B1)
Language Log: http://tinyurl.com/zot7wrs

Re: French B2 by 16th June

Postby Carmody » Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:22 am

1 x

DaveBee
Blue Belt
Languages: English (native). French (studying).
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=7466