I only do what's easy and fun

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Tomás
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N). Currently studying Spanish (intermediate), French (false beginner).

Postby Tomás » Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:05 am

I have learned Spanish to a good intermediate level over the past year-and-a-half, and I have a bit of leftover French from when I was a child living in various African countries. I had assumed that French would be my next language project after Spanish. But now Hindi has popped onto the radar screen, simply because I love Indian classical music and have a vague dream of reading its musicology in the original language.

So here's my current crazy scheme: I am studying Hindi from a Spanish base via "Hindi para Principiantes" (a translation of Rupert Snell's "Teach Yourself Hindi for Beginners" -- an excellent course). It's going fine so far.

But then I felt Assimil deprived. I loved Assimil for getting started with Spanish, but Assimil only has French and German bases for Hindi. So I got the French base and am working through it. The first lessons are going fine. I have only had to look up a few French words so far.

But using the French-based Assimil to learn Hindi gave me the itch to finally get to French, so I am using the Spanish-based Assimil course to study French. I know that studying two new languages simultaneously is not recommended, but my excuse is that I already know baby French from my childhood and so I am not really exerting myself that much to pop through a lesson of Mauger or Assimil once a day.