My Japanese Journey

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
AndyMeg
Blue Belt
Languages: Spanish (N), English (B2-C1), Japanese (A2-B1), Korean (Lower Intermediate?)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 02#p201902

My Japanese Journey

Postby AndyMeg » Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:24 am

I started studying japanese around seven years ago. I had a log about it in the old forum: Learning Japanese Stage I

Life got in the way many times, but I kept studying japanese on and off and I think I have achieved a lower-intermediate level (grammar wise), but I still need to improve my vocabulary a lot.

Over the years I've been less and less in contact with japanese native material (anime, manga, doramas), and more and more in contact with korean native material (specially K-Dramas, K-Variety Shows and K-pop), so this year I decided to start learning korean as my main focus (and I made a separate log for that).

I'll keep studying japanese, but at a more relaxed pace. Here is my plan for japanese:

- Practice once a week with a friend using japanese scripts of doramas. The way we practice is as follows:

1) We watch the part of the dorama will be studying that day, but we don't pay attention to the subs, only to the sounds and the general context.
2) We read the japanese script for that part and look for anything we don't understand (new vocab, grammar, etc.)
3) After we get a good grasp of the script meaning, we contrast it with the official subs.
4) Then we divide roles and read our part of the script trying to imitate the actors' pronunciation and intonation.
5) We listen to the part again and then role-play some more.

So far this has been a really fun and gratifiying way of studying :D

- As I still have a very basic Kanji knowledge, I'll be practicing everyday (for at least 10 minutes) using this amazing android app: Kanji Study