2017 L4, L5, and L6

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
sfuqua
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: Bad English: native
Samoan: speak, but rusty
Tagalog: imperfect, but use all the time
Spanish: read
French: read some
Japanese: beginner, obsessively studying
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=9248

2017 L4, L5, and L6

Postby sfuqua » Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:27 am

I'm going to start a new log for the new year.
I'm a 63 year old language learner. English is my native language. I lived overseas for two decades after I finished my undergraduate degree. I learned two Austronesian languages in my 20s and 30s, Samoan and Tagalog. My Samoan reached a high level for a foreigner (FSI 4+) while I lived in Samoa, but I haven't had much chance to use it since then. I learned Tagalog while I lived in the Philippines. Since I married a Filipina, I have used Tagalog every day for the past 32 years.

I started Spanish four years ago, with no real intention of getting very advanced in it, but daily study, and a Super Challenge worth of input has probably bumped my listening and especially reading up to an advanced level. My speech remains shaky, intermediate at best.

This year wanderlust got the best of me and I started French. Unfortunately, this year my teaching job took a turn into darkness with a change in management. I never could have imagined how unpleasant teaching could become. The time that I had for language learning has mostly been eaten up by trying to do impossible work tasks with little resources and constant criticism. In June this school year will be over and I will have 2 months of blessed freedom. I plan to wander Europe and use some of the languages I've been studying. I hope to transition to a better work environment for the next school year. I am pretty certain that the unpleasantness of my work environment is unhealthy.