The great push to C2 (Extra French Edition)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
whatiftheblog
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N), Russian (N), French (C2?), Spanish (~B1)

The great push to C2 (Extra French Edition)

Postby whatiftheblog » Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:50 am

Hi everyone! I’ve been reading through everybody’s logs and I just loved the idea, so I wanted to create my own. My background is fairly vanilla – raised bilingual, took a bit of Spanish and then a lot of French, ended up taking to French much better, the whole thing kind of grew horns and fangs, and here we are.

Anyway, my focus right now is on getting my long-suffering French to C1+ level, particularly on the output side (I loved the idea of the output challenge, btw, so I assembled one of my own to see how the system works for me). My goal is to get into a specific postgrad program in France by next fall, so I don’t have much time and the stakes are pretty high. Gaaaaah.

In the interests of transparency, I had about 2 hours of French per week from age 10 – 16, then probably spent 2-3 hours a week just reading stuff in college, did a summer abroad program in Nice at 19 (it was spectacular and I would recommend this to absolutely everyone), and then went back to reading and doing academic research in French 2-3 hours a week. I’d say I was probably a B2 by that point. Continued this sort of unstable pattern all through grad school, where less of my research was in French and the French competency exam I had to take for my degree was laughable, so there was no pressure and I was lazy. Over the past 5ish years, I first started slowly doing more and more in French (well, trying to, at least), got the chance to work with it a bit, and then started intensively trying to bring it back into my life about 2 years ago, when this whole plan with the degree program was first set in motion.