Karen's Spanish learning journey

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
klvik
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N) Spanish (Intermediate)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3149

Karen's Spanish learning journey

Postby klvik » Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:18 am

I apologize in advance for this very long post.

I have been learning Spanish for approximately 3 years and I think that I have reached the B1 level (low B1 for speaking, mid to upper B1 for everything else). I primarily have studied on my own with the exception of a 6 month period in which I had weekly conversation lessons with a Spanish tutor. Learning Spanish is a hobby for me and I love the intellectual challenge of evaluating my progress and implementing changes to my methodology so that I continue to progress. I joined the Super Challenge yesterday to give myself a concrete goal to work towards and today I begin this learning log. I welcome all comments and suggestions and I hope that my ramblings about my learning process will be helpful to others.

Where I stand now:

Speaking – As might be expected for an autodidact, my ability to speak in Spanish is my weak spot. My pronunciation is pretty good as long as I don’t speak too quickly, but the words that I want to use appear too slowly for fluid speech. I have 3 Spanish practice partners (from Mexico, Colombia and Spain) with whom I usually speak via Skype on a weekly basis. Our conversations in Spanish typically are free-wheeling discussions about current events or cultural differences between our respective countries. They don’t correct many of my mistakes so I try to spend a few minutes every day in solo speaking practice. I record my solo speaking practice so that I can try to identify my grammatical mistakes and correct them.