My journey to Spanish fluency

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
westminstress
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (intermediate), French (beginner)

My journey to Spanish fluency

Postby westminstress » Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:33 pm

Hi all. I've been trying to learn Spanish forever it seems. I'm a legal services lawyer in NYC, and I'd like to be able to use Spanish professionally. This requires a very high degree of fluency (basically, native level fluency). Around five or six years ago I put in a super-human effort with FSI/Platiquemos and learned a lot of Spanish. But my studies stalled out, and then I had kids, stopped studying and forgot everything. About 4-5 months ago I decided to pick Spanish up again. I did the Duolingo course and a lot of Spanish came flooding back pretty quickly. I am back up to an intermediate level again, just trying to find new ways to learn more. I'm hoping that keeping this log will help me get over the hump.

Right now, my Spanish studying routine looks a little something like this:

Reading a little bit every day - usually for a few minutes before I go to sleep and sometimes for longer while on the train. Right now I'm reading de amor y de sombra by Isabel Allende, which is wonderful. I can read native texts pretty easily, sometimes I stop to look up unknown words but a lot of times I don't bother.