Kida's Japanese Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Kida_4000061
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Japanese (beginner/ lower intermediate), & French (Very Basic & mostly forgotten)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2190

Kida's Japanese Log

Postby Kida_4000061 » Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:54 pm

I have learning Japanese for awhile almost 6 years, but no where near fluent. I decided to to weekly updates in hope that it will keep me on track. I have briefly looked in other languages. I also started working through Spanish very slowly with the only reason to work through workbook, Spanish the Easy Way, so I am only an absolute beginner.

My language learning background:
I have been interested in languages since middle school, but I did not start learning a second language until high school. I took one year of French during high school and I really enjoyed the language and the culture. I would not take another language until my first year of college, which would be the second semester of beginning Japanese. I taught myself what I missed over the christmas break, and I did alright, but by end class I did not like textbook or the course. After that I decided to continue Japanese through self study.

Japanese
Major accomplishments:
-Learned that Kanji were made up radicals
-Completed Human Japanese and Human Japanese intermediate
-Completed the Core 2k step one on Anki (decided to drop SRS after that)
-Complete Beginner's Japanese Script aka Read and Write Japanese Script
-Learned how conjugate Japanese verbs.

Ongoing projects/ study:
-Meet with a Japanese study group for 1.5 hours ever week (started after I finished the Japanese class)
-Transcribing Real Japanese in Kana and Kanji from Romaji (3 of 13 chapters? done)
-Cutting out the giant pile of Kanji Cards (Finished 1st Grade and about 3/8 through second grade)
-Going through Beginner's Japanese Script again (3 of 10 chapters complete)

Long Term Goals: