OwnPanda learns Vietnamese and Korean (now with more TAC 2016)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
OwlPanda
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Vietnamese (B1), Korean (A1).
Language Log: http://www.forum.language-learners.org/ ... =15&t=2170

OwnPanda learns Vietnamese and Korean (now with more TAC 2016)

Postby OwlPanda » Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:01 pm

I guess this is the place for continuing my language log, which almost kind of sort of got off the ground on the old board.

Right place then.

It's also an okay, if not ideal, time to start on a challenge. I mean, January would have been better, but now is better than never, right?

So, awaaaaaaaay we go

2/16/2016

Vietnamese

Here's where I am with this language. I started studying it when I got married a few years ago, but I made relatively little progress for a while. There were reasons for this.

The first several reasons all fall under the heading of, "I didn't really know how to learn languages back then." That's not to say I'm an expert now. I'm still trying to feel my way around all of this, and I'm starting in a bit of a hole, since a lot of the usual advice is much harder to put into practice when you're learning a language without a lot of connection to your native language. By this, I basically mean that I didn't have any early success with native materials, whether those included listening to conversations, watching Vietnamese television or movies, reading, or whatever. I got nowhere. Everything was completely impenetrable.