Battlegirl takes on Korean

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
battlegirl
White Belt
Languages: Italian (N), English (N), Spanish (C1), Japanese (beginner)

Battlegirl takes on Korean

Postby battlegirl » Wed Feb 14, 2024 3:04 pm

TL;DR I started Korean on Duolingo and it has too many mistakes to be useful. But it got me started!

I've been lurking on this forum for a few months a year (?!) now, following new posts and just getting the hang of the website. It finally gave me the courage to start learning a new language, and start my very own blog!

I have been reticent, because I'm an English teacher, and learning new languages often implies a period of mix-up for me. I was afraid it'd affect my job, so I've been holding off. I already have a few languages under my belt, and the last one I got stuck on is Japanese (still beginner), but recently I started listening to K-pop, and it got me curious. I can't understand a word of what they say, and the transliterations make no sense from the point of view of any language I know.

In December, afraid of getting bored on holiday, my husband started Arabic on Duolingo. He's been making progress, so I figured I'd try Korean on that. It's been 4 days now, I finished unit 1, and here's my report:

I had tried Duolingo in the past for Japanese, so I knew how it worked. As an absolute beginner, I knew it'd at least get me going. It started off easily enough, just teaching the letters, but halfway through the unit I had to go and look up a YouTube tutorial, because things were too mixed up and I wasn't able to organize my notes. I also noticed one or two mistakes (a symbol or some pronunciation that didn't correspond!), so I needed to clear things up.

Learn Hangul in 20 Minutes 한글 Korean Alphabet How to Read and Write Korean
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pT4k7LC91Cw

With this I was able to:
1) Check pronunciation (Duolingo seems to use a mix of AI voices...?! :shock: )