Léa's (first) log - TAC 2016 Russian

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
LaghmanC

Léa's (first) log - TAC 2016 Russian

Postby LaghmanC » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:53 pm

Hello all,

I'm Léa (and not so good at introducing myself). This is my first time joining a language-learner forum and a language learner challenge (to be completely honest I joined the Super Challenge in Spanish in December - got really excited and did really well.. for about five days). The reason I am starting this log is that I am moving back to Kyrgyzstan in a month or so and really need to brush up my Russian. I have lived in Bishkek for 6 months almost two years ago. I started to learn Russian there and tried to keep it alive after moving back to France but unfortunately I didn't always manage to do so. I had a tutor in Bishkek but never followed any conventional classes and mostly learned through everyday-life so it is hard to evaluate my level. When it comes to my reading and speaking skills, I would say that I must be somewhere between A1 and A2 (even though I was able to have quite long conversations about a variety of subjects includings politics, economics etc) but my understanding skills are quite okay (probably more between A2 and B2 - I know I know this is quite a large scale but it really depends on whether we are talking about a conversation in tête-à-tête or a movie). I will also try to improve my English and Spanish (that I believe are both quite advanced). I will not set specific goals for now for these languages but I intend on reading more novels in both Spanish and English this year. My Italian needs some serious work. My understanding skills are still really good, I can easily watch TV but I can't speak. Nothing but Spanish comes to my head when I try to answer in Italian. I try to make some lessons on Duolingo here and there but it is not my priority at the moment and I definetely lack consistency in my studies. I've al