KO+

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
wnint
White Belt
Languages: English

KO+

Postby wnint » Sun Jan 10, 2016 6:48 pm

Hello everyone! 8-) I see there are a bunch of Korean logs here, I hope there is room for one more!

I’ve been working on Korean on and off for close to four years now. I’ve haven’t been very systematic and basically all of my practice have been input. The same method worked pretty well for learning English but I feel that the difference between my passive and active skills is too big now. I’ll therefore try to do some writing although I don’t want to set a specific goal. I think my passive level is B2, speaking probably at A2 and writing at B1.

I'll try to do updates every other week. Between updates I'll keep stalking all you other Korean learners in here! :)

Korean:
Goals:
Passive C1
Writing B2
Speaking -
1500 new words + all unknown words in the books I will read.

Method:
> 5 min memrise/day (I’m starting with this course: http://www.memrise.com/course/368149/topik-37)
30-60 min podcasts/day (I found 유인나의 볼륨을 높여요 in Evita’s log, starting with that one, thanks!)
1 movie/week (Korean subtitles when available, I will use the koreanfilm channel on youtube a lot, highly recommended! https://www.youtube.com/user/KoreanFilm)
> 30 min news/week (using the KORTV iPhone app)
> 30 min grammar review/week (이화 5/6, Grammar in Use Intermediate/Advanced)
> Satisfy the wanderlust by starting to dabble in Japanese and Russian through Korean.
Read at least 1 book (starting with 나는 나를 파괴할 권리가 있다 by 김영하)

Japanese/Russian
Goals:
Learn som basic grammar points and a few hundred words for each language. As Japanese will most likely be my next language I will try to prioritise it. If I find Russian very enjoyable that might change.

Method:
Textbooks, movies, maybe a memrise course and finally a couple of youtube beginner courses: https://youtu.be/X-GsKOyvGYY