Maya's adventures en français + 日本語で

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
PolyglotMaya
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), Russian (N), French (advanced fluency), Japanese (JLPT N3), Spanish (intermediate)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1861

Maya's adventures en français + 日本語で

Postby PolyglotMaya » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:25 pm

(The title of this thread annoys me... in Japanese, 日本語で should be at the beginning of the sentence, as in 日本語での冒険. Anywho...)

Welcome to Maya's language log! I will mostly be focusing on Japanese this year, but I will also be maintaining and gently sprinkling some more advanced vocabulary on my French. Some background and current goals for both languages:

French

I started studying French when I was about 12, and I became fluent around 14-15. Mostly through self-study, though I did also have tutors at various points.

I feel very comfortable using French; I've taken university courses and written exams in it.

I don't have any specific goals for my French this year; I just want to maintain what I have and continue to increase my vocabulary.

Japanese

I also started studying Japanese when I was 12, though I've stopped and started so many times that it's impossible to say how long I've actually been at it. Maybe 3 years?

I'm at a pretty solid N3 level (click the link to see what that means), maybe even a bit above that. I can have basic conversations, read a lot of manga without a dictionary, and understand a lot of blogs, song lyrics and other things on the internet.

My goal for this year is to study at least 2,000 kanji (just the writing and meaning, not necessarily the pronounciation) via the Heisig method, and to get to a solid N2 level. Assuming I don't stop from now on, I have a vague desire to take the JLPT N1 (the highest level) in December 2017.

じゃ、がんばりましょう! :)
4 x
: 9 / 200 French active listening

: 464 / 2000 Japanese kanji

PolyglotMaya
Yellow Belt