Stelle's log (Spanish, Italian, Tagalog)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Stelle
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N1), French (N2), Spanish (advanced), Tagalog (basic), Russian (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=13312

Stelle's log (Spanish, Italian, Tagalog)

Postby Stelle » Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:10 pm

¡Hola! Hello! Bonjour! Kamusta! Saluton!

Please note: while Spanish is my forever language, I've dabbled on and off in Italian, Tagalog and Esperanto over the past few years. Rather than coming back and editing this first post every time my focus changes, I'm just going to leave it as it is. Updated info on what I'm studying can, of course, be found on the most recent posts in my log.

Welcome to my new log for 2016! (You can find my old log here.)

native languages: English and French

I grew up in English and in French, in a very bilingual small city in Ontario. We spoke mostly English at home, French with our extended family, French at school, and both English and French with friends - depending on the friend. Most of the movies, TV and books that I've consumed throughout my life have been in English. Most of my working life has been in French, teaching both children and adults. So while I'm probably more eloquent in English, I'm comfortable in both languages.

primary target language: Spanish

I started learning Spanish in May 2013, in preparation for a 6-week trek in Spain. My Dad and I walked the Camino Frances in March/April 2014, starting in St-Jean-Pied-de-Port in France and ending 780km later in Santiago de Compostela. I fell in love with Spain, with Spanish and with language learning in general.

I would currently rate my level somewhere around B2, tottering on the edge of C1 - although you'd never guess it from the way that I write! I write poorly in Spanish. I can comfortably read novels and watch movies in Spanish without much effort.