Laurie's Language Log - TAC DE ES FR

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
LMAshton
Yellow Belt
Languages: English N,
German A1, Spanish A0, French A0
Next: Plautdeutsch, Sinhala
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1729

Laurie's Language Log - TAC DE ES FR

Postby LMAshton » Thu Dec 17, 2015 4:10 am

I'm actively working on both German and Spanish. French is more of a background thing at the moment.

German. I took a year of German in university decades ago and wasn't particularly good, which could also be translated as pretty terrible. Earlier in 2015, I started learning German because, well, I wanted to and for no other reason. I did a couple of beginner courses through Memrise that had a couple of hundred words, then I started the Memrise A1, which I'm now at level 64 out of 83, so pretty close to the end. If I power through, I can probably finish by the end of the year or soon thereafter. At that point, I'll start A2. Meanwhile, I'm also listening to an audiobook in German (Tom Sawyer, of all things). I don't understand most of it, so I need something that's more appropriate for the level I'm currently at. I also need to find books that are at my level so I can read in German.