Kraemder's attempt at JLPT N1 (Japanese)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
kraemder
Green Belt
Languages: English (N)
Japanese (JLPT N2)
German (read several books)
Spanish (read a couple books)
Korean (studying for about a year semi seriously)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=1204

Kraemder's attempt at JLPT N1 (Japanese)

Postby kraemder » Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:00 am

I'll be signing up for the JLPT N2 this year (again). I tried last year but didn't make it - I was taking Korean at a local community college though and wasn't taking any Japanese classes. I feel I could have passed had I put the time I did into Korean into Japanese instead. Anyway, it's a hard test so I'll need to do my best. I've been studying Japanese for about four years now. I already passed the N3 test a couple years ago now so N2 is very reasonable I think. I mostly study on my own but I do online lessons occasionally. I've found the online lessons really have helped my speaking and listening but not so much for the vocabulary and the grammar peculiar to the N2 test. It's mostly up to me to drill that I guess. I'm finally going to be able to visit Japan in September. I'm using vacation time to take 3 weeks off to go Tokyo and study at Genkijacs. Why the studying? I don't have anyone to travel with so it's a good way to meet people and studying Japanese is more or less my hobby so it's fun. A lot of Japanese people are surprised that I can speak more or less fluently when I talk with them on Skype despite being a self learner. I give a lot of credit to that for taking online classes at Japanese Online Institute. They actually teach grammar in their lessons and it's not too bad at all but since there's no structure and they just randomly pick a grammar point for each class - you don't get the repetition you need to learn it well. At least that's my experience. They track how many times you've taken a lesson regarding a grammar point and