Game

General discussion about learning languages
Bluepaint
Brown Belt

Game

Postby Bluepaint » Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:36 pm

The video below shows 32 of the languages spoken around Europe. The snippets are generally around 30 seconds but some are longer and some are shorter.

Play the video, turn away from the screen (it displays the country on the video) and see if you can list each language on the video. Don't open the description as it has the full list & times!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-Y3kzIbHN ... e=youtu.be

If you're brave post your 'score'. I think mine was a miserly 10-12.
1 x

jeff_lindqvist
Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: sv, en
de, es
ga, eo
---
fi, yue, ro, tp, cy, kw, pt, sk
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2773

Re: Game

Postby jeff_lindqvist » Thu Apr 27, 2017 6:31 pm

18, including three correct guesses from the same family - I have some experience with one of them, another is one I've heard a lot, and the sample in the third correct guess gave a geographic clue. I either speak the other 15 ones or know what they sound like.
0 x
Leabhair/Greannáin léite as Gaeilge: 9 / 18
Ar an seastán oíche: Oileán an Órchiste
Duolingo - finished trees: sp/ga/de/fr/pt/it
Finnish with extra pain : 100 / 100

Llorg Blog - Wiki - Discord

tarvos
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: Native: NL, EN
Professional: ES, RU
Speak well: DE, FR, RO, EO, SV
Speak reasonably: IT, ZH, PT, NO, EL, CZ
Need improvement: PO, IS, HE, JP, KO, HU, FI
Passive: AF, DK, LAT
Dabbled in: BRT, ZH (SH), BG, EUS, ZH (CAN), and a whole lot more.
Language Log: http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/fo ... PN=1&TPN=1

Postby tarvos » Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:38 pm

I mixed up Macedonian, missed Serbian, didn't recognise Albanian, and accidentally saw Slovak (though I would have guessed it was Slovak as it wasn't Czech).