Learning Two Languages at the Same Time

General discussion about learning languages
zaneisdayton
Languages: English (N)
German (Advanced)

Learning Two Languages at the Same Time

Postby zaneisdayton » Thu Mar 30, 2017 5:37 am

I am currently studying German in college at the moment, but having a strong interest in learning languages, I strive to learn more everyday. My knowledge of German is quite well, yet I haven't taken any placement tests (i.e. A1, B1, C1, etc.). Yet, looking online and throughout duolingo, I constantly am seeing other languages that I am interested in, such as Dutch, Swedish, French, Danish or maybe even Russian. Is this a wise idea to attempt to learn two languages at the same time or should you strive for a greater understanding in one language until these "C-" levels, or would it be wise to learn two languages at the same time? I know that there are individualistic characteristics to consider, but when learning a language, if you decided to choose to learn two, you should probably stay in the same language families, or would that ultimately confuse people in mixing up elements between the two languages?
0 x
Für deine Träume,
Ich verkaufe meine Träume
Und dann lachen wir über nichts... :lol:

Atinkoriko
Orange Belt
Ibibio (N)
West African Pidgin English/Guinea Coast Creole[N]
Actively learning
Int: German, French, Spanish

Beginner: Russian, Japanese

Next: Mandarin Chinese, Ancient Greek, Latin, Ancient Egyptian Hieroglyphs, Italian
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 6&start=20

Re: Learning Two Languages at the Same Time

Postby Atinkoriko » Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:40 am