How Did You Learn Your First Foreign Language?

General discussion about learning languages
Xenops
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), Danish (A2), Japanese (rusty), Nansha (constructing)
On break: Japanese (approx. N4), Norwegian (A2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16797

How Did You Learn Your First Foreign Language?

Postby Xenops » Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:37 pm

Something I've been wondering is: do most people learn their first language through a class or tutoring, rather than self-taught? As much as I believe in the possibilities of self-learning, I realize that I could not fathom self-learning if I hadn't taken Spanish classes in high school for my first foreign language. I really feel that I needed guidance in language learning before I could branch out. In college I contemplated learning Japanese on my own, but I was intimidated by the particles, and I knew I wanted to be held by the hand, so to speak, as I took a year-long class in college Japanese.

And a point a member mentioned in another thread:
mcthulhu wrote:I did have formal training in a few languages, e.g. a double major in Russian and Spanish in college. Those proved to be good foundations for branching out into related languages on my own. Oddly enough, I think I spent the majority of my career working with languages in which I was self-taught, and in which I had gotten to the point where I could pass translation tests and become employable, even though my original motivation was just to be able to read books in those languages..

Like this gentleman, once I took some guided language classes, I feel more confident in my ability to self-learn. After some experimenting with what works and what I like, I'm confident in my ability to self-learn, even if the languages are different from ones I've been previously exposed to.