Learning methods with courses like Assimil? (Mainly remembering and being able to use what you learn in dialogs)

General discussion about learning languages
tx2005
Languages: English (N), Spanish (beginner)

Learning methods with courses like Assimil? (Mainly remembering and being able to use what you learn in dialogs)

Postby tx2005 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 4:52 pm

I recently started my Spanish journey for about the 4th time. I reconize various words and remember the basics of conjugation from high school 15 years ago, but otherwise I'm a beginner. I have a few resources I'm using to attempt to find the best study method for me.

-Assimil
-FSI Programmatic (FSI Basic looks way too intimidating at my level)
-SpanishPod101 (I'm doing a trial and I'm imprsssed with the huge amount of content)
-Anki for vocab
-Duolingo just because it's free and easy to do a quick lesson

All of that said I'm not sure the best way to retain material outside of vocabulary. The dialogues and basic grammar I've seen makes sense when I read it, but I sure wouldn't be able to make sentences or hold conversations in person if needed using what I've learned so far. Any tips or suggestions on how best to retain the info you get from courses beyond vocabulary?

Also, I do plan to get a language learning log posted and my profile updated tonight. I work nights and wanted to get this post out before heading to bed. Thanks for any and all advice/suggestions.
1 x

Tomás
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N). Currently studying Spanish (intermediate), French (false beginner).

Re: Learning methods with courses like Assimil? (Mainly remembering and being able to use what you learn in dialogs)

Postby Tomás » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:44 pm