Linguistic Research: SLA Assessment

General discussion about learning languages
Senator Jack
White Belt
Languages: French, Italian (intermediate), Greek (rusty but serviceable), Japanese (rusty)

Linguistic Research: SLA Assessment

Postby Senator Jack » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:32 pm

Hello,

I'm a student of linguistics at Queens College, CUNY, and I'm working on a research project. I'm focused on SLA and am running an experiment that centers on learning 13 words in a language and then testing overall comprehension. One of my participants wrote to tell me that I should post it over here as the members would enjoy taking it. It's based on the Star Trek universe, and the set-up is that you're a cadet who has to learn Kelkonian and then translate transmissions while in battle. It doesn't take long - about thirty minutes - and the results will be used purely for academic research in the field of linguistics. If I've breached etiquette with this post, I apologize, and I understand if it removed. Yet, now that I know about the forum, I'll certainly be visiting often. It seems there's a lot of intelligent discussion to be had.

Here's the link: You'll need the speakers on and pen and paper to take notes.

https://form.jotform.com/52778499196175

Thanks and kind regards,

Jack
Last edited by Senator Jack on Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
3 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: SLA Assessment

Postby rdearman » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:54 pm

Nope this is language related. Welcome aboard and we look forward to you joining in our discussions. Don't have a pen and speakers handy on my tablet, but I'll give your test a little go later. Thanks for the link.
2 x
: 26 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter

I post on this forum with mobile devices, so excuse short msgs and typos.

NIKOLIĆ
Orange Belt
Languages: Speaks: Cрпски (N), English, Română.